Fanny Mendelssohn - Overture in C 

Mozart - Violin Concerto No. 4 

Caroline Shaw - Ent’racte

Beethoven - Symphony No. 8


Delyana Lazarova - conductor

Hana Chang - violin

Fanny Mendelssohn was a prodigious talent, and only her gender prevented her from getting the recognition she deserved. Her lively and lyrical Overture in C has a fascinating contemporary counterpart in Caroline Shaw’s Entr’acte. The Pulitzer Prize-winner was inspired by hearing a performance of a Haydn String Quartet to create a mesmerising, off-kilter minuet.

Renowned as a pianist, Mozart was also a gifted performer on the violin and between 1772 and 1782 he wrote five concertos for the instrument. His unshowy playing style was reflected in the fourth concerto, a supple and fluid piece with a singing slow movement and a few surprises to tease the listener. Beethoven’s 8th Symphony appears to have more in common with Mozart’s classical world than his more revolutionary and expansive works and yet he reportedly preferred this jovial piece of concision to his more famous 7th Symphony. Pugnacious and armed with several mischievous pranks, its buoyant spirits explode from every note, not least in its barnstorming finale.

Tickets: £12 to £41/ £5 tickets for under 26s and full-time students

Running time: 1 hour 40 minutes including one interval

Free pre-concert talk, 6.20pm in the auditorium: conductor Delyana Lazarova in conversation.